Larock Proposed Permit: Please view the document below for more information:  Larock Proposed Permit


How to vote in the upcoming general election, and a preview of the ballot

The November 3, 2020 general election is now open for early and absentee voting.

To view a sample ballot for this election, click here.


If you were registered to vote as of September 2, you will receive an official early ballot (with instructions and return envelope) by mail from the office of the Vermont Secretary of State. Those ballots will be mailed by September 30 (to the mailing address on record with your voter registration). 

If you registered after September 2, the Town Clerk’s office is sending you a ballot, instructions, and return envelope by mail. 

Either way, if you do not receive a ballot by October 7, please call or email the Vernon Town Clerk’s office — (802) 257-0292, Ext. 11 or The absolute deadline for requesting a ballot is 5 p.m. on November 2. However, as the election gets closer, a ballot mailed to you might not reach you in time ((and certainly on the day prior to the election it would not). So it’s best not to wait. 


In-person voting WILL take place on November 3, in the lower level of the Town Office building, with social distancing and mask provisions. Town Clerk Tim Arsenault will shortly announce the hours for in-person voting, but in any case the polls will not close until the statewide closing time of 7 p.m.


Ballots that are mailed to you may be returned in one of three ways:

  • By mail, using the postage-paid return envelope provided with the ballot. Mail ballots early — they must be received by the Town Clerk by 5 p.m. on Monday, November 2.
  • Via the Town Clerk’s drop-off box, located outside the Town Office building entrance on the Governor Hunt Road side, also using the return envelope provided with the ballot. Again the deadline for this method is 5 p.m. on Monday, November 2.
  • At the polling place, during voting hours on Tuesday, November 3 — using the return envelope provided to you.


If you have questions, they may be answered on the Secretary of State’s page of absentee voting information, or contact Town Clerk Tim Arsenault at (802) 257-0292, Ext. 11 or