Vernon Declaration of Inclusion: Vernon Declaration of Inclusion

TEST TW WEATHER

Vernon Free Library news for February 2020

Hours:

  • Monday 1-6pm                                               
  • Tuesday 9-noon & 1-6                                                         
  • Wednesday 1-6pm                                                               
  • Thursday 1-6pm                                               
  • Friday – CLOSED                                                               
  • Saturday 9-12 noon

HOLIDAY CLOSING:

  • MONDAY, February 17th – Presidents’ Day

Programs:

  • Coloring Club – Every Monday @ 1pm
  • Cribbage Club – Every Wednesday @ 11am
  • Knitting Group – Every Wednesday 1-2pm
  • Reading Group – 2nd Thursday of the month @ 5pm
  • Rhyme Time – Every Monday @ 10:30 am for ages 0 to 3 yrs. & siblings

“A library outranks any other one thing a community can do to benefit its people. It is a never failing spring in the desert.” — Andrew Carnegie

NoveList

Using the library catalog is about to get BETTER! Looking for what to read next? Our catalog includes recommendations from NoveList, the read-alike experts. Ask the library staff about it today!

Welcome Colby Thompson !

This article introduces Colby Thompson, a new resident of Vernon as of last fall. He and his partner, Aria Zarnoski, live in a “tiny house” on Basin Road. They were living in Keene, NH, while building their little house on wheels. They wanted affordable land with privacy, but in a central location with easy access to Boston where Colby commutes for work. Vernon, with “tiny house friendly” zoning, not far from Brattleboro, easily filled that bill.

Colby has always loved Vermont. He graduated in 2014 from Champlain College in Burlington with a degree in digital film making. He films and produces high end wedding videos. After college, he traveled the country extensively for four years. But once he decided to develop his business, he returned to New England, living in Keene for a year and a half while he and Aria figured out the next steps in their lives.

Colby is a dedicated library patron. In Keene, he entirely relied on the library for the variety of services they offered. Then, as a resident of Vernon, he was confident he could get what he wanted and needed at Vernon Free Library. He got a library card right away and was not disappointed. They do not have Wi-Fi at home and this hasn’t been a problem because he likes working in the library internet café. They also didn’t have electricity for the first three months living on Basin Road, so using electricity at the library has been a real “life-saver.”

Colby does his editing out of the house and has a few favorite locations. One of them is Vernon Free Library. He says VFL is comfortable and welcoming. He comes in around twice a week and there is always space available. Staff and volunteers are friendly and helpful with the human touch he appreciates. Being able to get a fresh cup of coffee, check out a book, or use interlibrary loan, are added attractions.

Colby likes to see people and have human interaction, so he’ll come to the library even after their electrical setup is complete. He likes Vernon but misses having a community center. A final thought is that he’d love to see the riverfront developed and used. He knows that the Planning Commission and Friends of Vernon Center are hard at work to move those projects forward.

So, if you see a young man intent on work over a laptop in the library internet café, it could well be Colby. We welcome him and Aria to Vernon.

THE COLD DISH by Craig Johnson

Reading Group selection for Thursday, February 13th @ 5pm: Introducing Wyoming’s Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting first Longmire novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Land of Wolves

Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming’s Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire’s hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.

With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.” Amazon